UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Mick Whitley
    • Votes: 24,990
    • Vote share %: 59.0
    • Vote share change: -17.8
  2. Birkenhead Social Justice Party
    Frank Field
    • Votes: 7,285
    • Vote share %: 17.2
    • Vote share change: +17.2
  3. Conservative
    Claire Rowles
    • Votes: 5,540
    • Vote share %: 13.1
    • Vote share change: -5.3
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Stuart Kelly
    • Votes: 1,620
    • Vote share %: 3.8
    • Vote share change: +1.3
  5. The Brexit Party
    Darren Lythgoe
    • Votes: 1,489
    • Vote share %: 3.5
    • Vote share change: +3.5
  6. Green
    Pat Cleary
    • Votes: 1,405
    • Vote share %: 3.3
    • Vote share change: +1.2

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 17,705
  • Registered voters: 63,762
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.3

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 59.0%
Birkenhead Social Justice Party 17.2%
Conservative 13.1%
Liberal Democrat 3.8%
The Brexit Party 3.5%
Green 3.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Birkenhead Social Justice Party +17.2 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +3.5 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +1.3 Gained
  • Green +1.2 Gained
  • Conservative -5.3 Lost
  • Labour -17.8 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

'My debt to them is unlimited' - Frank Field

Frank Field, who resigned the Labour whip last year, lost his seat in Birkenhead after more than 40 years as an MP.

Frank Field
PA Media

Mr Field decided to defend his seat as the Birkenhead Social Justice Party candidate after quitting Labour, saying it had become "a force for anti-Semitism".

After losing his seat, he thanked "those voters who over 42 years have given [him] the huge privilege of representing Birkenhead in the House of Commons".

"My debt to them is unlimited," he added.

"We know perfectly well within the parliamentary Labour party there are a number of shadow [members] who, had they been leading the party, some of you would have been celebrating a Labour government."

Merseyside bucks national trend with Labour wins

Merseyside has bucked the national trend with Labour holding 14 out of the 15 seats in the area.

Despite the Conservatives gaining in many Labour heartlands, seats including Birkenhead, Bootle, Knowsley and Sefton Central have remained red.

Veteran MP Frank Field, who stood as an independent candidate after quitting Labour in the party's over an alleged rise in anti-Semitism", lost his seat after 40 years as an MP.

Maria Eagle celebrates her win in Garston and Halewood

Birkenhead: Labour hold

Mick Whitley has been elected MP for Birkenhead, meaning that the Labour Party holds the seat with a decreased majority.

The former MP, Frank Field, resigned from Labour after holding the seat for 40 years, and stood instead for the Birkenhead Social Justice Party. He lost the seat to Mr Whitley by 17,705 votes.

Claire Rowles of the Conservative Party came third and Liberal Democrat Stuart Kelly came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.3 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 42,000 people, roughly two-thirds of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Stuart Kelly (Liberal Democrat), Darren Lythgoe (The Brexit Party) and Pat Cleary (Green) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

RESULT: Labour retains Birkenhead

Labour has held Birkenhead.

Mick Whitley won 59% of the vote.

Former Labour minister Frank Field, who resigned the Labour whip last year, secured 17% of the vote to finish in second place.

Birkenhead: Labour hold

Result graphic

Birkenhead: Labour hold

Radio Merseyside is reporting that Labour's Frank Field has retained his Birkenhead seat.

We haven't had the final numbers through yet but it appears he has increased his majority.

More as we get it.

Frank Field
Getty Images

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May