UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Joy Morrissey
    • Votes: 32,477
    • Vote share %: 56.1
    • Vote share change: -9.1
  2. Independent
    Dominic Grieve
    • Votes: 16,765
    • Vote share %: 29.0
    • Vote share change: +29.0
  3. Labour
    Alexa Collins
    • Votes: 5,756
    • Vote share %: 9.9
    • Vote share change: -11.5
  4. Green
    Zoe Hatch
    • Votes: 2,033
    • Vote share %: 3.5
    • Vote share change: +1.0
  5. Independent
    Adam Cleary
    • Votes: 837
    • Vote share %: 1.4
    • Vote share change: +1.4

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 15,712
  • Registered voters: 77,720
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +2.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 56.1%
Independent 29.0%
Labour 9.9%
Green 3.5%
Independent 1.4%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Independent +29.0 Gained
  • Independent +1.4 Gained
  • Green +1.0 Gained
  • Conservative -9.1 Lost
  • Labour -11.5 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

If you're just joining us...

There are four new MPs in Buckinghamshire, but no change to party representation.

  • Former Tory Dominic Grieve lost his seat after running as an independent in Beaconsfield. He was booted out of the Conservative Party earlier this year after he backed a bill to try to stop a no-deal Brexit. Beaten by the new Tory candidate Joy Morrissey, who won with 32,477 votes, he still won the support of more than 16,000 voters
  • In Buckingham, the former Speaker of the House of Commons' seat has been won by Conservative Greg Smith, beating Liberal Democrat Stephen Dorrell by 20,411 votes. John Bercow was elected as a Conservative for the first time in 1997, but resigned from the party when he became Speaker in 2009
  • Conservative Steve Baker has retained his seat in Wycombe but with a significantly decreased majority, down from 12.3% to 7.7%
  • New MP Rob Butler has held Aylesbury for the Conservatives with an increased majority after David Lidlington stood down earlier this year.
  • Cheryl Gillan has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Chesham & Amersham, with a decreased majority
  • In Milton Keynes, Iain Stewart has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Milton Keynes South and the Conservatives also held Milton Keynes North with Ben Everitt becoming the newly elected MP after Mark Lancaster stood down

Beaconsfield: Conservative hold

Joy Morrissey has been elected MP for Beaconsfield, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with a decreased majority.

The new MP beat independent candidate Dominic Grieve - the incumbent MP who rebelled and left the Conservative party - by 15,712 votes. This was somewhat less than Mr Grieve’s own 24,543 vote majority in the 2017 general election.

Alexa Collins of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Zoe Hatch came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 2.2 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 58,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Zoe Hatch (Green) and Adam Cleary (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingBeaconsfield: Conservative hold

Joy Morrissey is the newly elected Conservative MP for Beaconsfield. The former MP Dominic Grieve left the Tories and was standing as an independent.

Beaconsfield turnout up 2.4%

The turnout in Beaconsfield has been announced as 74.7%, compared with 72.3% in the 2017 general election.

There were 58,035 ballot papers this year.

View more on twitter

Counting gets under way across the East of England

How actor Hugh Grant entered the election campaign

Nic Rigby

BBC News

The 2019 election has seen an unprecedented number of high profile independents standing for seats.

Hugh Grant
Facebook/Best for Britain

This has mostly been due to disagreements with their own party.

One of most well-known rebels against Boris Johnson was Dominic Grieve (pictured below) who had been the Conservative MP for Beaconsfield in Buckinghamshire since 1997.

Dominic Grieve

He lost a motion of confidence with his party in 2019 and so is standing as an independent with the backing of former Conservative Deputy Prime Minister Michael Heseltine.

Mr Grieve has also received support from actor Hugh Grant (pictured top), who appeared on Facebook to back Mr Grieve.

Other independents standing include Gavin Shuker (Luton South), who became disillusioned with Labour in the spring, and David Gauke (South West Herts), a former Conservative who also rebelled against Boris Johnson's Brexit policy.

Analysis: General Election in Buckinghamshire

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

Historically,Buckinghamshire is a strong Conservative county and there’s a good chance that will remain the same following tonight's counts.

Muddying the waters, though, are seats like Beaconsfield, where former Tory Dominic Grieve (pictured) stands as an Independent after losing his place in the party over Brexit.

Dominic Grieve

Elsewhere, the Milton Keynes seats were fairly tight in 2017, with Conservatives holding both, but by under 2,000 votes, and both Labour candidates from last time will stand again in a town that has a Labour-led council.

There’s also interest in Aylesbury, Buckingham and Milton Keynes North, with the standing MPs choosing not to seek re-election this time, meaning at least three fresh faces heading to Westminster.

General election 2019 night: What, where, when? Key times to watch out for
What results to look out for, and when, on election night with BBC Electioncast's Adam Fleming.

Welcome to our live coverage

The BBC is reporting from all of the 24 election counts in Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire and Buckinghamshire.

The three counties mainly returned Conservatives at the last general election in 2017.

The exceptions were Luton South, Luton North and Bedford, which went to Labour.

There could be interesting battles ahead in constituencies where the politicians who won in 2017 have left their parties and are standing as independents in this one.

Former Conservatives Dominic Grieve in Beaconsfield and David Gauke in South West Herts are going up against Tories this time.

In Luton South, Labour's Gavin Shuker won in 2017, but he is also standing as an independent this time.

Check who's standing on the BBC's Find a constituency page.