UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats


Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



John Mann Votes 27,467 header_vote_share 52.6 Net percentage change in seats +3.9



Annette Simpson Votes 22,615 header_vote_share 43.3 Net percentage change in seats +12.6


Liberal Democrat

Leon Duveen Votes 1,154 header_vote_share 2.2 Net percentage change in seats -0.5



Nigel Turner Votes 1,014 header_vote_share 1.9 Net percentage change in seats +1.9

Turnout and LAB majority

LAB majority




Vote share

Party %
Labour 52.6
Conservative 43.3
Liberal Democrat 2.2
Independent 1.9

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat

Latest updates

Bassetlaw MP set for BBC Question Time appearance

Calum McKenzie

BBC News

BBC Question Time tweets...

View more on twitter

Mann: Will government apologise over rape victims?

Dave Wade

BBC Local Live

Labour MP for Bassetlaw, John Mann, has said at Prime Minister's Questions today that a fear of publicity and a culture of denial mean women are reluctant to report rape and sexual harassment.

View more on twitter

"Will Damian Green apologise on behalf of victims who Parliament has let down?" he asked.

Mr Green said he agreed that as an institution Parliament needed to improve complaints procedures and the culture of politics.

He said young men and women should not be deterred from pursuing a career in politics.

Changes to East Midlands Commons constituencies proposed

Calum McKenzie

BBC Local Live

Two cross-county constituencies have been proposed in the East Midlands, under the latest proposed boundary changes.

Polling station
Getty Images

Some of the southern parts of the current Rushcliffe constituency would combine with Loughborough, to create a new Loughborough and South Rushcliffe seat.

Further south, some of the current South Leicestershire seat would become part of a new Daventry and Lutterworth constituency.

In Derbyshire and Derby, a new North East Derbyshire constituency will be created that is in line with its local authority of the same name, and there will be a Bolsover constituency containing the entirety of Bolsover District.

There are no proposed changes to the Bassetlaw, High Peak, Leicester East, Leicester South, North West Leicestershire and Mansfield seats - but all the rest face some minor tweaks which you can see here.

Listen: 'A very weak Prime Minister now' - Bassetlaw's Labour MP, John Mann

Theresa May's decision to call a snap general election to secure a bigger majority in the House of Commons has backfired.

The Conservatives are forecast to be the largest party, but are short of an overall majority.

After a dramatic night, the Labour leader, Jeremy Corbyn, has called for the Prime Minister to resign.

In Nottinghamshire, Labour's John Mann held on to Bassetlaw, but with a reduced majority.

He says Theresa May made a big mistake in calling the general election:

Bassetlaw: Labour Hold

Election Graphic

BreakingBassetlaw: Labour hold

Ben Truslove

BBC News Online

John Mann has held his Bassetlaw seat for Labour.

More candidates announced for Ashfield, Bassetlaw and Nottingham East seats

Peter Saull

BBC Radio Nottingham Political Reporter

More general election candidates have been announced for three Nottinghamshire constituencies. 

Tony Harper, of the Conservatives, will contest the Ashfield seat - as will Bob Charlesworth of the Liberal Democrats.

Tory Annette Simpson has confirmed she will look to be elected in Bassetlaw. She will be competing against Labour's John Mann and Leon Duveen of the Liberal Democrats.

In Nottingham East, UKIP's Robert Hall-Palmer will look to overturn the majority held by Labour's Chris Leslie. 

Nottinghamshire general election line-up starting to take shape

Peter Saull

BBC Radio Nottingham Political Reporter

More Nottinghamshire candidates for the upcoming general election have been announced.

In Ashfield, Labour's Gloria de Piero (below) has confirmed she will be defending her majority of 8,820.  

Gloria De Piero

In Bassetlaw, Liberal Democrat Leon Duveen will look to overturn Labour's majority

Meanwhile, in Broxtowe, it has been confirmed that fellow Liberal Democrat Tim Hallam will compete for the seat against Conservative Anna Soubry and Labour's Greg Marshall.

Tory Carolyn Abbott will face Labour's Vernon Coaker and Liberal Democrat Robert Swift for the Gedling seat, while Conservative Ben Bradley and UKIP's Sid Pepper will compete with Labour's Sir Alan Meale for the Mansfield constituency. 

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May


, with candidate John Mann
, have the following results:
  • 23,965 total votes taken.
  • 48.6% share of the total vote
  • -1.8% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Sarah Downes
, have the following results:
  • 15,122 total votes taken.
  • 30.7% share of the total vote
  • -3.2% change in share of the votes
, with candidate David Scott
, have the following results:
  • 7,865 total votes taken.
  • 16.0% share of the total vote
  • +12.4% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Leon Duveen
, have the following results:
  • 1,331 total votes taken.
  • 2.7% share of the total vote
  • -8.5% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Kris Wragg
, have the following results:
  • 1,006 total votes taken.
  • 2.0% share of the total vote
  • +2.0% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top