UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats

Basildon & Billericay

Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



John Baron Votes 27,381 header_vote_share 61.0 Net percentage change in seats +8.3



Kayte Block Votes 13,981 header_vote_share 31.1 Net percentage change in seats +7.5



Tina Hughes Votes 2,008 header_vote_share 4.5 Net percentage change in seats -15.4


Liberal Democrat

Antonia Harrison Votes 1,548 header_vote_share 3.4 Net percentage change in seats -0.4

Turnout and CON majority

CON majority




Vote share

Party %
Conservative 61.0
Labour 31.1
UKIP 4.5
Liberal Democrat 3.4

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat

Latest updates

Peace in Northern Ireland 'compromised' by DUP deal

Stuart Bailey

BBC News

The former Labour MP for Basildon and the party's leader in the House of Lords, Baroness Angela Smith, has said she's concerned for the future of the Good Friday Agreement.

It's after the Conservatives failed to win a majority in last week's general election and Theresa May said she would form a government with the support of the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP).

Baroness Smith worked in the Northern Ireland Office for several years and said: "My great worry is that the Good Friday Agreement, which underpins all the changes and peace in Northern Ireland, is going to be very difficult.

"It is compromised by the government doing a deal with the DUP."

Baroness Angela Smith

However she said there seemed to be very little appetite from Tory MPs to go to the polls again:

"Looking at the Conservative MPs and hearing what they've had to say over the weekend, a lot of them aren't very keen on having another general election.

"Some of them in Essex who went into this election with big majorities, came out with very small ones."

Basildon & Billericay MP spoke of overall majority confidence

Conservative MP John Baron was the first candidate across Essex to win a seat.

At that point, he said he was optimistic about an overall majority.

View more on twitter

Video: Conservative MP John Baron holds Basildon and Billericay

Basildon & Billericay: Conservative hold

Election graphic

BreakingConservatives hold Basildon and Billericay

Conservative John Baron has been re-elected as MP for Basildon and Billericay, with 27,381 votes.

Labour came second with 13,981. Both parties increased their share of the vote from 2015, but UKIP's dropped significantly from 8,538 two years ago to 2,008 this time around.

Video: It's a trolley dash in Basildon

Election 2017: Essex votes arrive in trolley dash

Watch: 'We've been a well oiled machine'

Basildon's returning officer says they have responded well to the challenge of the snap election.

He expects the turnout to be up on 2015.

View more on twitter

Ballot boxes arrive in shopping trolleys

Richard Smith

BBC Essex

At Basildon, ballot boxes have been rushed into the counting hall in shopping trolleys.

Ninety have arrived in total.

Two counts are taking place at Basildon sporting village - Basildon and Billericay, and South Basildon and east Thurrock.

The returning officer Bala Mahendran says the council has risen to the challenge of the snap election.

Trolleys of ballot boxes arriving

Election results: First off the blocks

So, where are we expecting results from first?

Basildon and Billericay are expected to be first off the blocks at 01:00, the first in the eastern region.

Results will then flood in from the rest of the county's 18 constituencies, with Brentwood and Ongar, Colchester and Harwich and Essex North all expected to be the last to declare at about 04:30.

General election 2017 nomination papers in

With all the general election 2017 candidates' nominations papers in, we've collected together links to where you can find full information from the returning officers in the 18 Essex constituencies:

The election takes place on Thursday, 8 June.



, with candidate John Baron
, have the following results:
  • 22,668 total votes taken.
  • 52.7% share of the total vote
  • -0.1% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Gavin Callaghan
, have the following results:
  • 10,186 total votes taken.
  • 23.7% share of the total vote
  • +0.6% change in share of the votes
, with candidate George Konstantinidis
, have the following results:
  • 8,538 total votes taken.
  • 19.8% share of the total vote
  • +16.0% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Martin Thompson
, have the following results:
  • 1,636 total votes taken.
  • 3.8% share of the total vote
  • -11.9% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top