UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Victoria Prentis
    • Votes: 34,148
    • Vote share %: 54.3
    • Vote share change: 0.0
  2. Labour
    Suzette Watson
    • Votes: 17,335
    • Vote share %: 27.6
    • Vote share change: -6.5
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Tim Bearder
    • Votes: 8,831
    • Vote share %: 14.0
    • Vote share change: +8.4
  4. Green
    Ian Middleton
    • Votes: 2,607
    • Vote share %: 4.1
    • Vote share change: +2.2

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 16,813
  • Registered voters: 90,116
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.6

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 54.3%
Labour 27.6%
Liberal Democrat 14.0%
Green 4.1%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +8.4 Gained
  • Green +2.2 Gained
  • Conservative +0.0 Gained
  • Labour -6.5 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Banbury: Conservative hold

Victoria Prentis has been re-elected as the MP for Banbury, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Suzette Watson by 16,813 votes, 4,414 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Tim Bearder of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Ian Middleton came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3.6 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 63,000 people, 69.8% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Ian Middleton (Green) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Exit poll suggests no shocks in Oxfordshire

The exit poll, carried out by Ipsos MORI for the BBC, ITV News and Sky News, suggests the Tories may win 368 seats and Labour 191.

The poll is a way of forecasting what may happen in the general election, after voting ends but before the results are known.

In Oxfordshire, it suggests no seats will change hands tonight, which may not come as a shock given five out of the six constituencies are safe seats.

The poll forecasts Liberal Democrat Layla Moran, will hold her Oxford West and Abingdon seat, after gaining it from the Conservatives in 2017.

Exit poll

'Delay' in ballot box arrival due to road accident

BBC Radio Oxford's Chris McHugh says he has been told that there may be delays with the arrival of some ballot boxes in Banbury due to an accident on the M40 motorway causing congestion.

As you can see, Liberal Democrat Time Bearder is the first candidate to arrive in the constituency, which has elected Conservative Victoria Prentis in 2017, with a majority of 12,399.

View more on twitter

Banbury: Conservative hold

Election result

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May