UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Arundel & South Downs

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Andrew Griffith
    • Votes: 35,566
    • Vote share %: 57.9
    • Vote share change: -4.4
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Alison Bennett
    • Votes: 13,045
    • Vote share %: 21.2
    • Vote share change: +13.3
  3. Labour
    Bella Sankey
    • Votes: 9,722
    • Vote share %: 15.8
    • Vote share change: -6.9
  4. Green
    Isabel Thurston
    • Votes: 2,519
    • Vote share %: 4.1
    • Vote share change: -0.1
  5. Independent
    Robert Wheal
    • Votes: 556
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: +0.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 22,521
  • Registered voters: 81,726
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.7

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 57.9%
Liberal Democrat 21.2%
Labour 15.8%
Green 4.1%
Independent 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +13.3 Gained
  • Independent +0.9 Gained
  • Green -0.1 Lost
  • Conservative -4.4 Lost
  • Labour -6.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Arundel & South Downs: Conservative hold

Andrew Griffith has been elected MP for Arundel & South Downs, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with a decreased majority.

The new MP beat Liberal Democrat Alison Bennett by 22,521 votes. This was fewer than Nick Herbert’s 23,883 vote majority in the 2017 general election.

Bella Sankey of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Isabel Thurston came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.7 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 61,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Isabel Thurston (Green) and Robert Wheal (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Profile: Arundel & South Downs

This is one of the South East’s more rural constituencies, so a result isn’t expected until about 05:30 GMT, but it will be getting a new MP.

Former policing minister Nick Herbert wrote to his constituents in November announcing he would not be standing again in the seat he has held for the Conservatives since 2005. Instead he is focusing on his new roles as chairman of the Countryside Alliance and chairing the think tank Project for Modern Democracy.

Hoping to replace Mr Herbert in this Conservative seat is Andrew Griffith, a former media executive who became Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s business adviser after Mr Johnson’s victory in this summer’s leadership campaign.

Nick Herbert
Nick Herbert is not contesting the 2019 general election

Conservatives hold Arundel & South Downs

Nick Herbert

Arundel & South Downs: Conservative Hold

Election Graphic

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:  

The deadline to register is 22 May