UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Amber Valley

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Nigel Mills
    • Votes: 29,096
    • Vote share %: 63.9
    • Vote share change: +7.3
  2. Labour
    Adam Thompson
    • Votes: 12,210
    • Vote share %: 26.8
    • Vote share change: -11.6
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Kate Smith
    • Votes: 2,873
    • Vote share %: 6.3
    • Vote share change: +3.9
  4. Green
    Lian Pizzey
    • Votes: 1,388
    • Vote share %: 3.0
    • Vote share change: +1.6

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 16,886
  • Registered voters: 69,976
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 63.9%
Labour 26.8%
Liberal Democrat 6.3%
Green 3.0%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +7.3 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +3.9 Gained
  • Green +1.6 Gained
  • Labour -11.6 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Red wall collapses

Tony Roe

BBC East Midlands political editor

The East Midlands political map now looks very different to the way it did when Labour were last in government in 2010.

It’s now a region where Labour seats are confined to the cities and everywhere else is Conservative.

Since 2010 Labour has lost every town they represented in Parliament with the exception of Chesterfield. Those seats in the former industrial areas, dubbed the red wall, have actually been collapsing since 2010.

Seats like North West Leicestershire, Sherwood and Amber Valley have now built substantial safe majorities for the Tories.

And Mansfield, which narrowly went blue for the first time in the 2017 election now has a majority of 16,000. Mansfield is a safe Conservative seat. Let that sink in. Bolsover, Bassetlaw and Ashfield are now Conservative seats.


Amber Valley: Conservative hold

Nigel Mills has been re-elected as the MP for Amber Valley, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Adam Thompson by 16,886 votes, more than double the majority at the 2017 election.

Kate Smith of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Lian Pizzey came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.2 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 46,000 people, roughly two-thirds of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Lian Pizzey (Green) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingAmber Valley retained by Conservatives

Gavin Bevis

BBC News

Nigel Mills has held Amber Valley for the Conservatives.

Nigel Mills supporters optimistic for increased majority

BBC Radio Derby

Amber Valley's Conservative candidate Nigel Mills can be seen following the election coverage with his supporters, including Derbyshire auctioneer James Lewis.

Some Conservative campaigners here in Ripley are predicting the winning margin could be in excess of 10,000 votes (which would be more than 2017).

Nigel Mills with supporters

Derbyshire turnout figures emerge

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby, political reporter

Turnout in High Peak about the same as last time (73%).

Down very slightly in South Derbyshire (68%) and Amber Valley (65%).

Tory candidate attacked by dog

BBC Radio Derby

Nigel Mills, the Conservative candidate for Amber Valley in Derbyshire, is nursing a bandage on his finger after being bitten by a dog while out canvasing on Monday.

It's not known who the dog's owner was planning to vote for.

Nigel Mills

Derbyshire Tory MP: Scrapping electrification 'doesn't add up'

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby, political reporter

Conservative MP for Amber Valley, Nigel Mills has been speaking in the House of Commons about the government's decision to scrap the Midland Mainline electrification plans.

nigel mills

"It's a strange strategy that we're looking to get electric charging points in for cars," he said.

"And yet we're being told that the future for trains is diesel or hybrid. I'm not sure that stacks up."

'Leavers' vote Tory in General Election

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby, political reporter

Not totally surprising but Derbyshire constituencies which voted most strongly to Leave in 2016 tended to see bigger increases in Conservative vote share last week...


Amber Valley: Conservative hold

Election result