Entertainment & Arts

Adele and Radiohead up for indie awards

Adele and Radiohead Image copyright PA / AP
Image caption Adele and Radiohead are both signed to British indie label XL Recordings

Artists including Adele, Radiohead and Stormzy are up for the AIM awards, which recognise music released on independent labels.

Radiohead's A Moon Shaped Pool is nominated for album of the year, alongside Skepta's critically-acclaimed Konnichiwa and Brian Eno's The Ship.

Adele's Hello contends for track of the year, as does Radiohead's Burn The Witch and Major Lazer's Light It Up.

In total, 47 artists are shortlisted across nine categories.

'Huge diversity'

Rock band Wolf Alice, French pop outfit Christine and the Queens and Australian dance producer Flume are amongst the acts listed in several categories.

Former Moloko frontwoman Roisin Murphy will pick up the outstanding achievement award, while Richard Russell - head of Adele and Radiohead's record label, XL Recordings - will receive the pioneer award.

The ceremony is organised by the Association of Independent Music, which represents music released outside the "big three" record companies, Sony, Warner and Universal.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Stormzy is nominated in the independent breakthrough of the year category

Alison Wenham, who leads the trade body, said this year's shortlist represents the huge diversity in genre, gender and ethnicity within the independent sector.

"Where else, other than the AIM Awards, would you find grime acts going head to head with hardcore punk bands and electronic producers?," she said.

"The shortlisted nominees highlight the fact that the best place to be in the music industry right now is the independent sector."

The awards will be handed out at a ceremony at The Brewery, London, on 6 September.


Independent album of the year

  • Arca - Mutant
  • Brian Eno - The Ship
  • Field Music - Commontime
  • Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes - Blossom
  • Lapsley - Long Way Home
  • Little Simz - A Curious Tale Of Trials + Persons
  • Press To MECO - Good Intent
  • Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool
  • Roots Manuva - Bleeds
  • Skepta - Konnichiwa

Independent track of the year

  • Adele - Hello
  • Christine And The Queens - Tilted
  • Field Music - The Noisy Days Are Over
  • Flume - Never Be Like You
  • Ghetts x Rude Kid - One Take
  • Major Lazer ft Nyla & Fuse ODG - Light It Up [remix]
  • Protoje ft Chronixx - Who Knows
  • Radiohead - Burn The Witch
  • Skepta - Man
  • Roots Manuva - Don't Breathe Out

Independent label of the year

  • Because Music
  • Bella Union
  • Epitaph/ANTI-
  • Moshi Moshi
  • Ninja Tune

Best 'difficult' second album

  • Daughter - Not To Disappear
  • Fat White Family - Songs For Our Mothers
  • Melt Yourself Down - Last Evenings On Earth
  • Money - Suicide Songs
  • Savages - Adore Life

Independent breakthrough of the year

  • Christine And The Queens
  • Father John Misty
  • Flume
  • Neck Deep
  • Stormzy

Hardest working band or artist

  • Darren Hayman
  • Kamasi Washington
  • Martyn Joseph
  • Run The Jewels
  • ShaoDow

Best live act

  • Babymetal
  • Caravan Palace
  • Courteeners
  • Sunset Sons
  • Wolf Alice

PPL award for most-played independent new act

  • KDA
  • Sigala
  • Wolf Alice
  • Tchami

Best small label

  • Beatnik Creative
  • Earth Recordings
  • Holy Roar
  • Local Action
  • Numbers

Special catalogue release of the year

  • British Sea Power - The Compleat Illustrated British Sea Power (Vol. 1)
  • Mikael Tariverdiev - Film Music
  • Slade - When Slade Rocked The World
  • Various Artists - Ork Records: New York, New York
  • Various Artists - Leaf 20 Box Set

Golden welly award for best independent festival

  • Barn On The Farm
  • Beat Herder
  • Brainchild Festival
  • Pete The Monkey
  • Strawberries & Creem Festival

Indie champion award

  • Chris Bye - Arts Council England / Liverpool Sound City
  • Jen Long - DICE
  • Jess Partridge - London In Stereo
  • Jon Tolley - Banquet Records
  • Mary Anne Hobbs - BBC 6Music

Independent video of the year

  • Darwin Deez - The Mess She Made
  • Grimes - Kill V. Maim
  • Kaytranada - Lite Spots
  • Oscar - Sometimes
  • Yeasayer - I Am Chemistry

Outstanding contribution to music

  • Roisin Murphy

Pioneer award

  • Richard Russell, XL Recordings

Innovator award

  • TBA

Follow us on Twitter @BBCNewsEnts, on Instagram at bbcnewsents, or email entertainment.news@bbc.co.uk.

Related Topics

More on this story

Around the BBC

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites