Entertainment & Arts

Rowling's Galbraith shortlisted for crime novel award

JK Rowling Image copyright PA
Image caption Career of Evil is the third novel in the Cormoran Strike series

JK Rowling's work under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith has been shortlisted for a prestigious crime novel award.

Career of Evil is one of six books shortlisted for this year's Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year.

Also on the shortlist are Eva Dolan, Mark Billingham, Clare Mackintosh, Adrian McKinty and Renee Knight.

Val McDermid will receive the award for outstanding contribution to crime fiction on 21 July, when book of the year will also be announced.

Previous recipients include Lynda La Plante, Ruth Rendell, PD James and Colin Dexter.

Image caption McDermid's books include The Mermaids Singing and Fever of the Bone

Broadcaster Mark Lawson will host the awards ceremony on 21 July on the opening night of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

One of the judges, Simon Theakston, said: "We're particularly delighted to be honouring Val McDermid this year. On a personal note, Val had the vision to create this festival with Harrogate International Festivals back in 2003.

"Thanks to her far-reaching passion and generosity for crime fiction - for writers and readers alike - it has become the biggest celebration of the genre in the world. As a writer, she is rightfully known as the queen of crime. Val is very deserving of this accolade in the pantheon of legendary crime authors."

Theakstons crime novel award shortlist

• Time Of Death - Mark Billingham

• Career Of Evil - Robert Galbraith

• Tell No Tales - Eva Dolan

• Disclaimer - Renee Knight

• I Let You Go - Clare Mackintosh

• Rain Dogs - Adrian McKinty

Galbraith's Career of Evil - the third novel in the Cormoran Strike series - is in the process of being adapted for a major new television series for BBC One, along with The Cuckoo's Calling and The Silkworm.

Two debut novels have made the shortlist - Knight's Disclaimer and Mackintosh's I Let You Go.

It will be a hat-trick for Billingham if he triumphs, having previously won in 2005 and 2009.

The winner, who receives £3,000 in prize money, will be determined by a combination of the results of the public vote (20%) and the decision of the judging panel (80%)

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites