Entertainment & Arts

Carnegie Medal: Patrick Ness in running for third time

Patrick Ness Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Patrick Ness is nominated for The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Author Patrick Ness is in the running to become the first author to win the Carnegie Medal three times.

He has been shortlisted for the children's book award for The Rest of Us Just Live Here, which follows the lives of a group of teenagers.

Frances Hardinge, who won the Costa Book of the Year award for The Lie Tree, is also shortlisted.

Three illustrators are also in with a chance of winning the Kate Greenaway Medal for a record third time.

Children's Laureate Chris Riddell, former Children's Laureate Anthony Browne and Helen Oxenbury - who first won the award for outstanding illustration in a book for children in 1969 - have all made the shortlist, which is dominated by traditional picture books this year.

Browne first won the medal in 1983, while Riddell won for the first time in 2001.

'Golden age'

Hardinge's Victorian murder mystery joins Lies We Tell Ourselves, author Robin Talley's first book which tells of two teenage girls falling in love across the race divide in 1950s America.

Sarah Crossan's One, about conjoined twins; Marcus Sedgwick's The Ghosts of Heaven, which looks at the search for the true meaning of life; Jenny Valentine's Fire Colour One, which looks at issues of authenticity and honesty; Kate Saunders's Five Children on the Western Front, about the impact of war on a family; and Nick Lake's There Will Be Lies, which sees a young girl reassessing her identity, make up the shortlist.

Image copyright AP
Image caption Frances Hardinge won the Book of the Year award for The Lie Tree

Sioned Jacques, chair of the judging panel for both awards, said: "These exceptionally strong shortlists reflect the huge range of writing and illustrating talent in children's publishing at the moment.

"The lists are a true celebration of the longevity of these wonderful talents, with Helen Oxenbury and Anthony Browne showing that they are still delivering incredible work decades after first winning a medal."

The CILIP Carnegie Medal 2016 shortlist:

• One by Sarah Crossan

• The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

• There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

• The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

• Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders

• The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

• Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

• Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016 shortlist:

• Willy's Stories illustrated and written by Anthony Browne

• There's a Bear on My Chair illustrated and written by Ross Collins

• Once Upon an Alphabet illustrated and written by Oliver Jeffers

• Sam & Dave Dig a Hole illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett

• Something About a Bear illustrated and written by Jackie Morris

• Captain Jack and the Pirates illustrated by Helen Oxenbury, written by Peter Bently

• The Sleeper and the Spindle illustrated by Chris Riddell, written by Neil Gaiman

• Footpath Flowers illustrated by Sydney Smith, written by JonArno Lawson

CILIP president Dawn Finch said: "We are without doubt in a golden age of children's books. From stories set in Victorian times and World War One to a modern day library, from fantasy worlds to the future, these shortlists showcase the enormous talent and unlimited imagination currently to be found in children's storytelling."

The winners for the two medals will be announced on 20 June at the British Library.

The Kate Greenaway Medal winner has been awarded the £5,000 Colin Mears Award cash prize since 2000 - this year, the Carnegie Medal winner will also be awarded the same amount, from the same fund.

One title from each shortlist will also win the Amnesty CILIP honour, which is a new commendation for a book which celebrates freedom.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites