Entertainment & Arts

Strictly Come Dancing winner crowned

Media playback is unsupported on your device
Media captionJay McGuinness was crowned winner of Strictly Come Dancing 2015

Former boy band star Jay McGuinness has been crowned the winner of this year's Strictly Come Dancing.

The former member of The Wanted, who danced with Aliona Vilani, was the hottest favourite in the show's history, according to bookmakers.

Ex-Coronation Street actress Georgia May Foote and Giovanni Pernice and Eastenders' Kellie Bright and partner Kevin Clifton were joint runners up.

Broadcaster Katie Derham and Anton du Beke came fourth.

McGuinness came third on the judges' final leaderboard behind Bright and Clifton, who were first, and Foote and Pernice, but the public vote secured his win.

Speaking after he and his partner were announced as winners of Strictly Come Dancing, McGuinness said: "I just think it has been one of the most special things I've ever done and with the most special person.

"If anyone watched who helped us to get here and then enjoyed what we were doing I'm really happy that you liked it because it's the best thing I've ever done."

All the couples performed three dances in this year's final - one routine from a previous show that the dancers had chosen to perform again, one judges' choice and a showdance.

For their choice, Jay and Aliona chose to do the paso doble to It's My Life by Bon Jovi, while Georgia and Giovanni returned to the charleston, dancing to Hot Honey Rag from Chicago.

Katie and Anton went back to the Viennese waltz, set to Elvis Presley's If I Can Dream, while Kellie and Kevin picked the charleston, accompanied by Star Wars Cantina Band by John Williams.

Image caption Soap star Kellie Bright and Kevin Clifton were among the beaten finalists
Image copyright PA
Image caption Georgia May Foote and Giovanni Pernice joined Kellie Bright and Kevin Clifton in the last three

They had survived to get to the final from the 15 celebrities who took to the dancefloor at the start of the series in September. Peter Andre, Carol Kirkwood, Daniel O'Donnell, Ainsley Harriott and Jeremy Vine were among those who were knocked out along the way.

This was the 13th series, and the BBC One show has remained popular with viewers, with more than 10 million households tuning in to every instalment this year.

Image copyright PA
Image caption Katie Derham and Anton Du Beke came in fourth place
Image copyright PA
Image caption The final episode also featured a performance from the other Strictly contestants

Last year's winners were TV presenter Caroline Flack and partner Pasha Kovalev.

More on this story

Around the BBC