Entertainment & Arts

Jon Snow to receive Bafta fellowship

Jon Snow
Image caption Jon Snow has presented Channel 4 News for more than 25 years

Channel 4 news anchor Jon Snow is to be honoured with a fellowship at this year's TV awards.

The fellowship is the highest accolade Bafta gives for "outstanding and exceptional contribution" to the film, television and games industry.

Snow said he was "genuinely overwhelmed" by the honour, adding: "There is no greater recognition than that of one's own industry."

He will be presented with the fellowship at a ceremony on 10 May.

"When I saw the list of Fellows I was daunted by the idea I could in some way be ranked amongst them," the journalist said.

"I thought at first Bafta must have the wrong Snow… There are several of my cousins they could have chosen. I think my daughters have concluded I've finally done something cool!"

Snow began his career at LBC Radio in 1973, before joining ITN in 1976 as its Washington correspondent.

Known for his collection of colourful ties, he has presented Channel 4 News for more than 25 years.

Among the news events he has covered include the release of Nelson Mandela, the fall of the Berlin Wall and Barack Obama's inauguration as President of the United States.

Image caption The journalist won a TV Bafta in 2005

The journalist has previously been nominated for seven Bafta TV Awards nominations and won the Richard Dimbleby award for factual contribution to television in 2005.

He was also named the Royal Television Society's journalist of the year in 2006 and presenter of the year in 2009 and 2011.

"Jon Snow has become one of the most iconic and successful broadcast journalists of our time," Bafta's chair, Anne Morrison, said.

"With his innate ability to engage with audiences, his leadership of the flagship Channel 4 news programme and career spanning over 40 years at ITN, Jon is an inspiration across the industry and a very worthy recipient of this year's fellowship."

Previous Bafta fellowship recipients include Michael Palin, Sir David Attenborough, Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders, and last year's fellow, Julie Walters.

This year's Bafta TV Awards will take place at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane, hosted by Graham Norton.

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites