Entertainment & Arts

David Jason and Malala win at National Book Awards

David Jason and Malala Yousafzai composite
Image caption David Jason and Malala Yousafzai both won prizes for their life stories

Only Fools and Horses star David Jason and schoolgirl Malala Yousafzai have both won prizes at the Specsavers National Book Awards.

Yousafzai, 16, from Pakistan, won the non-fiction prize for I Am Malala, her account of being shot by the Taliban.

Jason beat Jennifer Saunders, Rick Stein, and British Bake-Off expert Mary Berry in the autobiography category.

Both James Bond and Bridget Jones were trumped in the popular fiction award by Robert Harris's An Officer and A Spy.

The winners now compete in an online public vote for the prestigious book of the year title, which is revealed on Boxing Day.

Demon dentist

Life After Life writer Kate Atkinson was named UK author of the year, beating Neil Gaiman, Jim Crace, Patrick Ness, Maggie O'Farrell and the late Iain Banks to the title.

David Walliams' Demon Dentist won him the children's book category for the second year in a row.

Image caption Walliams' children's books have won several prizes, including last year's National Book Award

Nigel Slater fought off competition from fellow TV chefs including Jamie Oliver, Rachel Khoo and Paul Hollywood to take the food and drink prize for his newest book Eat.

After topping summer book charts Gillian Flynn's novel Gone Girl - which is currently being made into a film starring Ben Affleck - beat bestselling authors, including Man Booker winner Eleanor Catton and Donna Tartt, to the award for international author.

Yousafzai, who co-wrote her memoir I Am Malala with Christina Lamb, triumphed over seasoned non-fiction writers such as Bill Bryson, Malcolm Gladwell and Max Hastings in her category.

She now lives with her family in Birmingham after being shot in the head by a Taliban gunman and is a high profile campaigner for girls' education.

Sophie Hannah's The Carrier was named crime book of the year and newcomer Liza Klaussman took the new writer award for Tigers in Red Weather.

Neil Gaiman picked up audiobook of the year for The Ocean at the End of the Lane after missing out in both the UK author of the year and the children's book categories.

The ceremony at London's Mandarin Oriental hotel was hosted by Lorraine Kelly and highlights will be shown on her morning ITV1 show on Thursday 12 December.

Amanda Ross, from Cactus TV, who produce the Awards, said they were to "honour, celebrate and promote the most popular books of the year", adding: "These are the books people are buying and reading."

Online voting for the book of the year trophy, the only book award chosen by readers, will close on 19 December.

Last year's winner was EL James' raunchy blockbuster Fifty Shades of Grey, while Caitlin Moran's How To Be A Woman and David Nicholls' romantic novel One Day have also taken the prize.

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites