Entertainment & Arts

Black Mirror and Pratchett film win International Emmys

Black Mirror's executive producer Annabel Jones at the International Emmys in New York
Image caption Black Mirror's award was accepted by its executive producer Annabel Jones

Sir Terry Pratchett's BBC film about assisted suicide and Charlie Brooker's C4 satire Black Mirror have both been honoured at the International Emmys.

Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die won in the documentary category, while Black Mirror won best TV movie/mini-series.

Writer Norman Lear and veteran actor Alan Alda received special honours at the event, which celebrates excellence in TV production outside the US.

British productions took home seven prizes from last year's ceremony.

Choosing to Die saw Sir Terry travel to a Swiss clinic as part of an in-depth look at the assisted suicide procedure.

The BBC Two programme looked at how the best-selling author, who was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease in 2008, might choose to end his life.

Black Mirror, described by Channel 4 as a "twisted parable" about the way we live in a modern world, was first aired in 2011.

A second series of the show, inspired by US anthology series The Twilight Zone, was commissioned in July.

Special awards

Lear, 90, famously created the 1970s sitcom All in the Family, which looked at matters of race and women's rights.

As he collected his special award on Monday, he said that "the world will, and needs to, come together through the arts".

Image caption Producer Norman Lear (l) and actor Alan Alda received special Founders awards

Alda, best known for his role in M*A*S*H as a doctor on the front line during the Korean War, received the same honour.

The 76-year-old paid tribute to the real-life medics who treat the injured in war, saying "the men and women in the hospital tents" often went unmentioned at award shows.

Both M*A*S*H and All in the Family were on the air in 1972, when the first International Emmys were awarded.

The ceremony also saw Oscar-winning actress Jessica Lange award Ryan Murphy, the creator of Glee, with the International Emmy Founders award.

Both awards for acting went to Argentines, with Cristina Banegas and Dario Grandinetti winning for drama series Television por la Inclusion.

It is the first time both awards have been given to actors in the same programme.

Retired talk show host Regis Philbin hosted the ceremony, held at the New York Hilton.

Six International Emmys for children's programming will be presented at a separate awards ceremony on 8 February.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites