Steven Moffat to receive special Bafta

image captionMoffat said he was "thrilled" to receive his latest Bafta accolade

Doctor Who producer and Sherlock co-creator Steven Moffat is to receive a special prize at this year's Bafta TV awards, organisers have announced.

Recognising his "outstanding creative writing contribution to television", the award will be presented on 27 May at London's Royal Festival Hall.

Previous recipients include Russell T Davies, who preceded the 50-year-old Scot as Doctor Who's head writer.

"Blimey! A special award!" said Moffat, "I didn't even know I was ill."

The accolade follows the writing prize he received at last Sunday's Bafta Craft Awards for A Scandal in Belgravia, the first episode of Sherlock's second series.

The Paisley native won his first Bafta in 1991 for Press Gang and was further recognised for his work on Doctor Who and Sherlock in 2008 and 2011 respectively.

Moffat said he was "so thrilled" to be recognised again, "especially after two years of [working on] my two favourite shows ever".

Bafta chair Tim Corrie described him as "one of the finest exponents of his craft" and said the special award - presented in honour of Dennis Potter - was "very well deserved".

Sherlock star Benedict Cumberbatch is up for the best actor prize at this year's awards, which will also see his co-stars Martin Freeman and Andrew Scott go head to head in the supporting actor category.

Australian entertainer Rolf Harris will be awarded the Bafta Fellowship at the event, to be hosted by the Irish comedian Dara O'Briain.

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.