Entertainment & Arts

Patti Smith and Kronos Quartet win Polar Music Prize

Image caption Smith was praised for transforming 'the way an entire generation looks, thinks and dreams'

Rocker Patti Smith and US string group Kronos Quartet have been awarded the 2011 Polar Music Prize.

Sweden's highest music honour is typically shared by a pop artist and a classical musician.

King Carl XVI Gustaf will present each act with their one million kronor (£100,000) prize at a gala ceremony in Stockholm on 30 August.

Previous winners include Sir Paul McCartney, Pink Floyd, Stevie Wonder and composer Ennio Morricone.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Music praised musician and poet Smith, 64, for "devoting her life to art in all its forms".

"Patti Smith has demonstrated how much rock'n'roll there is in poetry and how much poetry there is in rock'n'roll.

"She has transformed the way an entire generation looks, thinks and dreams," the academy added.

The Kronos Quartet, which is based in San Francisco, was praised for incorporating avant-garde rock and music from a variety of sources worldwide.

Image caption Kronos Quartet received a Grammy for best chamber music performance in 2004

"For almost 40 years the Kronos Quartet has been revolutionising the potential of the string quartet genre when it comes to both style and content," the academy said.

The Polar Music Prize was founded by Stig Anderson, the manager of Swedish pop group ABBA, in 1989.

It is awarded to individuals, groups or institutions in recognition of exceptional achievements in the creation and advancement of music.

Last year's prize was shared by Morricone and Icelandic singer Bjork.

More on this story

Around the BBC

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites