Archers actor Graham Seed wins radio honour

image captionNigel Pargetter died after falling off the roof of his stately home in January

Former Archers actor Graham Seed has been named radio broadcaster of the year at the Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) Awards.

Seed, who played Nigel Pargetter in the Radio 4 soap for 27 years until the character's death in January, is the first actor to receive the honour.

The BPG said the award was in recognition of the affection in which Nigel was held by Archers fans.

Other winners included Downton Abbey and drama Mo, with two awards each.

Downton Abbey was awarded best drama series of 2010 while its creator Julian Fellowes won the writer's award.

Julie Walters was named best actress for her role as the late politician Mo Mowlam in Channel 4's Mo, which was also named best single drama.

And Sherlock star Benedict Cumberbatch won the best actor award, beating Downton Abbey's Hugh Bonneville and Any Human Heart's Tom Hollander.

There were also two awards for physicist Professor Brian Cox - as best performer in a non-acting role and for BBC Two's Wonders of the Solar System, which was named best documentary series.

BBC Two's Miranda was named best comedy show while The Apprentice won the best factual entertainment category.

Best single documentary was awarded to Channel 4's Cutting Edge: My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding, which has now been turned into a hit series.

While Coronation Street creator Tony Warren was given the Harvey Lee award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting, marking the soap's 50th anniversary at the end of 2010.

The awards, voted for by journalists who write and broadcast about TV and radio, will be presented at a ceremony later at London's Theatre Royal.

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.