US Election 2016

US election 2016 on the BBC: How to follow the results

Voters in Vienna, Virginia (8 November) Image copyright JIM LO SCALZO
Image caption Voters in Vienna, Virginia, were waiting in line to vote on Tuesday morning

More than 100 million Americans are voting to decide their next president. Here is how you can keep up to date with the latest results, analysis and interviews on BBC online, social media, radio and TV.

Online

The BBC News website is providing across-the-board coverage of the US election to UK and international audiences.

We will be streaming the BBC's live TV results programme from 23:15 GMT/18:15 EST on Tuesday, 8 November and there will be a full results service with live video, news stories and key clips for desktop and mobile through the night and the following day.

You can also follow our live page for the latest news and analysis from BBC editors and correspondents as well as expert views from guest interviewees and other commentators, and a selection of commentary from across the globe.

For all the best explainers on US politics and the candidates' policies, visit our US election special report.

Television

US 2016: Election Night in America, presented by Katty Kay and Andrew Neil in New York.

From 23:15 GMT/18:15 EST on Tuesday on the BBC World News channel and the BBC News channel in the UK.

Special coverage, reaction and analysis throughout Wednesday.

Radio

America Decides, presented by Shaimaa Khalil, Tim Franks, Philippa Thomas and Jim Naughtie on BBC World Service from 22:00 GMT/17:00 EST on Tuesday to 09:59 GMT/04:59 EST and BBC Radio 4 from 22:00 GMT/17:00 EST to 05:57 GMT/00:57 EST.

Social media

Twitter - Our election bot @BBCUSElection will tweet the results of the presidential vote from each state. The big moments will be covered as they happen on @BBCBreaking and other BBC news accounts with video, graphics and text.

Facebook - We will have Facebook Lives from our virtual reality studio with Jeremy Vine through the night and from the Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump HQs once the result becomes clear, sharing the most newsworthy and interesting moments of the night. There will also be live reaction on the BBC News Facebook page from around the world the following day.

Snapchat - BBC News will be in New York - sharing the stories of Clinton and Trump supporters as the results unfold.

Instagram - We'll have a range of pictures of the night including the moment the result is announced as well as an Instagram Story "Who is…?" telling the back story of the winner once the result becomes clear.

Yik Yak - BBC News will discuss the results throughout the night with young people on Yik Yak, getting their reactions.

BBC correspondents will be reporting from key cities across the US and you can follow them on Twitter.

Hillary Clinton HQ, New York

Jon Sopel, North America editor @BBCJonSopel

Nick Bryant, New York correspondent @NickBryantNY

Gary O'Donoghue, Washington correspondent @BBCBlindGazza

Donald Trump HQ, New York

Gavin Hewitt, chief correspondent @BBCGavinHewitt

Laura Trevelyan, World News America presenter @LauraTrevelyan

Aleem Maqbool, North America correspondent @AleemMaqbool

Miami

Rajini Vaidyanathan, North America correspondent @BBCRajiniV

Philadelphia

Jane O'Brien, Washington correspondent @trowynt

Cleveland

Barbara Plett Usher, state department correspondent @BBCBarbaraPlett

Las Vegas

James Cook, California-based correspondent, @BBCJamesCook

Related Topics