Which Republicans have deserted Donald Trump?

Related Topics
image copyrightGetty Images
image captionClockwise from top left: Mitt Romney, John Kasich, Susan Collins, Jeb Bush, Lindsey Graham, Michael Hayden, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen and Mark Kirk

A tape recording of Donald Trump making disparaging remarks about women has sparked howls of condemnation from Republican colleagues. More than 30 senior politicians have said they can no longer back him.

Here's a list of some of the leading Republicans who have deserted him since the tapes were revealed.

But it's not the first time Mr Trump has lost support from colleagues. Republicans have been deserting him for months over various scandals.

So who is on the "Never Trump" list and who's still on Mr Trump's side?

Republican senators not voting for Mr Trump

  • Kelly Ayotte, New Hampshire
  • Susan Collins, Maine
  • Mike Crapo, Idaho
  • Jeff Flake, Arizona
  • Cory Gardner, Colorado
  • Dean Heller, Nevada
  • Mark Kirk, Illinois
  • Mike Lee, Utah
  • John McCain, Arizona
  • Lisa Murkowski, Alaska
  • Rob Portman, Ohio
  • Ben Sasse, Nebraska
  • Dan Sullivan, Alaska

Republican Congressmen and Congresswomen not voting for Mr Trump

  • Jaime Herrera Beutler, Washington
  • Barbara Comstock, Virginia
  • Mike Coffman, Colorado
  • Rodney Davis, Illinois
  • Jeff Fortenberry, Nebraska
  • Lindsey Graham, S Carolina
  • Kay Granger, Texas
  • Steve Knight, California
  • Cresent Hardy, Nevada
  • Joe Heck, Nevada
  • Will Hurd, Texas
  • John Katko, New York
  • Frank LoBiondo, New Jersey
  • Mia Love, Utah
  • Patrick Meehan, Pennsylvania
  • Erik Paulsen, Minnesota
  • Martha Roby, Alabama
  • Tom Rooney, Florida
  • Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Florida
  • Mike Simpson, Idaho
  • Chris Stewart, Utah
  • Fred Upton, Michigan
  • Ann Wagner, Missouri

Other Republicans who will not vote for him

  • Robert Bentley, Alabama governor
  • Jeb Bush, former Florida governor and candidate for the 2016 nomination
  • William Cohen, former secretary of defence
  • Dennis Daugaard, South Dakota governor
  • Carly Fiorina, former candidate for the 2016 nomination
  • Darryl Glenn, from Colorado, running for the Senate
  • Kim Guadagno, lieutenant governor of New Jersey
  • Michael Hayden, former CIA director, former NSA director
  • Gary Herbert, Utah governor
  • Bill Haslam, Tennessee governor
  • Jon Huntsman, former Utah governor
  • John Kasich, Ohio governor, 2016 presidential candidate
  • Susana Martinez, New Mexico governor
  • George E Pataki, former New York governor
  • Tim Pawlenty, former Minnesota governor
  • Condoleezza Rice, former secretary of state
  • Tom Ridge, former Pennsylvania governor; former Homeland Security secretary
  • Mitt Romney, former Massachusetts governor, 2012 presidential nominee
  • Brian Sandoval, Nevada governor
  • Arnold Schwarzenegger, former California governor

Republicans voting for Mrs Clinton

image copyrightGetty Images
image captionFrom left: Hank Paulson, Meg Whitman, Richard Hanna and Richard Armitage
  • Richard Armitage, former deputy secretary of state
  • Ex-President George HW Bush
  • Richard Hanna, New York congressman
  • Hank Paulson, former treasury secretary
  • Brent Scowcroft, former national security adviser
  • Chris Shays, former Connecticut congressman
  • Meg Whitman, prominent Republican donor; CEO of Hewlett Packard
  • William Bennett, former secretary of education

Senior Republicans still in Trump's corner

image copyrightReuters
image captionHouse Speaker Paul Ryan is the most senior elected Republican in the US
  • Ben Carson, retired neurosurgeon, former candidate for the 2016 nomination
  • Chris Christie, New Jersey governor, former candidate for the 2016 nomination
  • Ted Cruz, Texas senator, former candidate for the 2016 nomination
  • Newt Gingrich, former House speaker
  • Rudy Giuliani, former New York mayor
  • Mitch McConnell, Senate majority leader
  • Paul Ryan, speaker of the House of Representatives
  • Marco Rubio, Florida senator, former candidate for the 2016 nomination
  • Scott Walker, Wisconsin governor, former candidate for the 2016 nomination

Republicans who disavowed Trump but now say they will probably vote for him

  • Bradley Byrne, Alabama
  • Senator Deb Fischer, Nebraska
  • Scott Garrett, New Jersey
  • Senator John Thune, S Dakota
  • Jason Chaffetz, Utah