BBC News

General election 2019: No change as Somerset returns MPs

image captionJacob Rees-Mogg increased his majority in Somerset North East

Commons Leader Jacob Rees-Mogg has been re-elected as the MP for Somerset North East, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Mark Huband by 14,729 votes, 4,494 more than his majority in 2017.

Elsewhere in Somerset the political make-up has also remained unchanged.

The Conservatives held Bridgwater and Somerset West, Somerton and Frome, Taunton Deane, Wells and Yeovil. In Bath, Lib Dem MP Wera Hobhouse more than doubled her majority to 12,322.

image captionDavid Warburton secured exactly one vote fewer than he did in 2017

The former Secretary of State for International Trade Liam Fox was also returned for the Conservatives to Somerset North.

Somerton and Frome MP David Warburton secured exactly one vote fewer than he did in 2017 (36,230 compared to 36,231).

"I lost one vote. I didn't send a Christmas card to somebody or something," he joked.

"I'm going to find out who it was. I hope it's not my wife."

Find a constituency

Results in full:

Somerset North East: Jacob Rees-Mogg (Con) 28,360; Mark Huband (Lab) 13,631; Nick Coates (Lib Dem) 12,422; Fay Whitfield (Green) 1,423; Shaun Hughes (Ind) 472.

Bridgwater and Somerset West: Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) 35,827; Oliver Thornton (Lab) 11,388; Bill Revans (Lib Dem) 7,805; Mickie Ritchie (Green) 1,877; Farès Moussa (Liberal) 755.

Somerton and Frome: David Warburton (Con) 36,230; Adam Boyden (Lib Dem) 17,017; Sean Dromgoole (Lab) 8,354; Andrea Dexter (Green) 3,295.

Taunton Deane: Rebecca Pow (Con) 34,164; Gideon Amos (Lib Dem) 22,464; Liam Canham (Lab) 4,715; John Hunt (Ind) 2,390.

Wells: James Heappey (Con) 33,336; Tessa Munt (Lib Dem) 23,345; Kama McKenzie (Lab) 4,034; Dave Dobbs (Ind) 373; Susie Quatermass (Motherworld) 207.

Yeovil: Marcus Fysh (Con) 34,588; Mick Clark (Lib Dem) 18,407; Terry Ledlie (Lab) 3,761; Diane Wood (Green) 1,629; Tony Capozzoli (Ind) 689; Tom Fox (Constitution and Reform) 186.

Bath: Wera Hobhouse (Lib Dem) 28,419; Annabel Tall (Con) 16,097; Mike Davies (Lab) 6,639; Jimi Ogunnusi (BRX) 642; Bill Blockhead (Ind) 341.

Somerset North: Liam Fox (Cons) 32,801; Hannah Young (Lab) 15,265; Ashley Cartman (Lib Dem) 11,051; Phil Neve (Green) 2,938.

  • WHO WON IN MY CONSTITUENCY? Results in full
  • LAURA KUENSSBERG: Historic change?
  • BREXIT: What happens now?
  • ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW: The night's key points
  • TEST YOURSELF: Richard Osman's election night quiz
  • IN PICTURES: Binface, a baby and Boris Johnson