Wales Election 2016

Welsh Assembly Election 2016: Kirsty Williams retains Brecon

Media playback is unsupported on your device
Media captionKirsty Williams kept her seat but the four other Lib Dem AMs lost

Kirsty Williams has held on to her seat in Brecon and Radnorshire but has quit as Welsh Liberal Democrat leader.

She increased her majority over the Tories to more than 8,000 but the other four Lib Dem AMs all lost their seats.

Russell George held Montgomeryshire for the Conservatives while Elin Jones of Plaid Cymru won Ceredigion again.

Neil Hamilton was elected for UKIP on the Mid and West Wales regional list, plus Plaid's Simon Thomas, and Labour's Joyce Watson and Eluned Morgan.

More on this story