Scotland Election 2016

Holyrood 2016: SNP wipes out Labour in Glasgow with wins in all eight seats

Sturgeon in Glasgow Image copyright Jeff J Mitchell
Image caption At the Glasgow election count, SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon was delighted her party had taken all eight on the city's seats

The Scottish National Party has won all eight constituency seats in Glasgow and all but wiped out Labour's constituency representation in the west of Scotland.

The party held its existing five seats in Glasgow and took Labour's last three - Provan, Pollok and Maryhill.

It also turned the electoral map yellow with gains from Labour in Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire and Inverclyde.

Labour's sole remaining constituency in west central Scotland is Dumbarton, which Jackie Baillie held by 109 votes.

The SNP's Humza Yousaf claimed victory in Pollok, with a majority of 6,484, denying former Labour leader Johann Lamont the seat she won in 2011 by just 623 votes.

In Provan, Ivan McKee was elected for the SNP, with 13,140 votes compared with 8,357 for Labour's Paul Martin.

In the Maryhill and Springburn seat, Labour's Patricia Ferguson lost to the SNP's Bob Doris. The SNP increased its share of the vote by almost 14%.

The SNP also held Cathcart, Kelvin, Shettleston and Southside where SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon was re-elected.

Image caption Jackie Baillie held Dumbarton for Labour

Labour clung on by taking four list seats in Glasgow, with former MP Anas Sarwar, Johann Lamont, Pauline McNeil and James Kelly elected.

Scottish Greens co-convener Patrick Harvie also took a list seat and Adam Tomkins and Annie Wells were elected for the Scottish Conservatives.

Labour's night of woe continued outside of Glasgow in territories which used to form the bedrock if its support in Scotland.

Across eight constituencies in North and South Lanarkshire, the SNP took four from Labour: Coatbridge and Chryston, Motherwell and Wishaw, Rutherglen and Uddingston and Bellshill.

The SNP also held Clydesdale, Airdrie and Shotts, Hamilton, and East Kilbride.

Across five constituencies in Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire and Inverclyde, Labour lost another three: Renfrewshire South and Greenock and Inverclyde both fell to the SNP and the Conservatives took Eastwood where former Scottish Labour leadership hopeful Ken MacIntosh was the incumbent.

The SNP also held Paisley and Renfrewshire North and West.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption SNP supporters were celebrating in Glasgow

Across five constituencies in Ayrshire, the map remained static with the SNP holding Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley, Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley, Cunningham North and Cunningham South. The Conservatives held Ayr.

The three constituencies to the north of Glasgow, which straddle Argyll and Bute and East and West Dunbartonshire, also remained unchanged.

The SNP held both Strathkelvin and Bearsden and Clydebank and Milngavie, while Labour held Dumbarton.

The regional seats outside of Glasgow are spread across the West of Scotland, South of Scotland and Central Scotland lists.

As the SNP won most of the constituency seats, it picked up very little on the regional lists - scoring zero on the West and Central lists and just three in the South of Scotland list.

The Scottish Conservatives picked up a further eight seats across these list areas, with Labour gaining nine, the Scottish Greens one and the Liberal Democrats none.

More on this story