Election 2016

Election 2016: Polling stations open on Teesside

Voting has begun in council and police and crime commissioner (PCC) elections being held on Teesside.

Polling stations opened their doors at 07:00 BST and will close at 22:00.

In Hartlepool, votes are being cast in council elections in Burn Valley, De Bruce, Fens and Rossmere, Foggy Furze, Hart, Headland and Harbour, Jesmond, Manor House, Rural West, Seaton and Victoria wards.

Voting for the PCC is happening across the Cleveland Police force area.

In England elections are taking place for more than 120 councils and to elect 36 PCCs.