BBC News

Conservatives hold seats in Dorset

media captionTobias Ellwood, who retained his Bournemouth East seat, said his party had to "take stock"

The Conservative Party has held its seats across every constituency in Dorset.

The Tories retained Bournemouth East and West, Dorset South, North and West, Dorset Mid and Poole North, Christchurch and Poole.

In Dorset North, Labour came second "for the first time in many years", according to North Dorset District Council.

Second place was previously held by the Liberal Democrats.

  • Latest election updates from the south of England
  • Full coverage of the general election 2017
  • Full England results breakdown
image captionConor Burns held his Bournemouth West seat with 23,812
image captionThe Dorset North seat was retained by Simon Hoare

Simon Hoare won the Dorset North seat with 36,169 votes. Labour's Pat Osborne received 10,392 votes.

During his acceptance speech, Mr Hoare said: "History has been made today, this is the first time the Labour party has come second in North Dorset and it's a position I'm very happy for them to keep as long as I keep the first place."

Ms Osborne added: "It proves Labour values are alive and well in North Dorset."

image captionRichard Drax won the Dorset South seat with 29,135 votes

Michael Tomlinson said he was "honoured" to win the Dorset Mid and Poole North seat for a second time with 28,585 votes to beat Liberal Democrat Vikki Slade's 13,246.

The Lib Dems previously entered into a pact with the Greens - with the latter agreeing not to stand in the constituency in a bid to overthrow the Tories.

Tobias Ellwood was re-elected in Bournemouth East with 25,221 votes. Labour's Mel Semple came second with 17,284.

Mr Ellwood said the make-up of the chamber would be "very, very different indeed" after the result.

Richard Drax won the Dorset South seat with 29,135 votes over Labour's Tashi Warr who received 17,440.

image captionCounts were carried out in Poole, Blandford, Weymouth, Dorchester and Christchurch

Dorset West was won with 33,081 votes by Oliver Letwin, against Liberal Democrat Andy Canning's 13,990.

Conor Burns held his Bournemouth West seat with 23,812 votes and Christopher Chope retained Christchurch for the Conservatives with 35,230.

Labour came second in both of these constituencies - a change from the previous election when UKIP was in second place.

Meanwhile, Robert Syms retained the Poole seat with 28,888 votes to beat Labour.

Dorset results:

  • Bournemouth East: Conservative, Tobias Ellwood, 25,221 votes
  • Bournemouth West: Conservative, Conor Burns, 23,812 votes
  • Christchurch: Conservative, Christopher Chope, 35,230 votes
  • Dorset Mid and Poole North: Conservative, Michael Tomlinson, 28,888 votes
  • Dorset North: Conservative, Simon Hoare, 36,169 votes
  • Dorset South: Conservative, Richard Drax, 29,135 votes
  • Dorset West: Conservative, Oliver Letwin, 33,081 votes
  • Poole: Conservative, Robert Syms, 28,888 votes

More on this story

  • Election results 2017: Theresa May - DUP government 'to continue with Brexit'