Election 2015 England

Oxford West and Abingdon voters missing postal ballots

About 150 postal voters in the ultra-marginal seat of Oxford West and Abingdon have not received their ballot papers for the general election.

The constituency saw one of the tightest races in 2010 when Conservative Nicola Blackwood won the seat from the Lib Dems by 176 votes.

Returning officer David Buckle said postal votes were being reissued.

"That's my priority. Why they didn't arrive can wait until the election is over," he said.

All the affected voters reside within Oxford itself.

The Vale of White Horse District Council, of which Mr Buckle is also chief executive, is responsible for issuing ballot papers.

Mr Buckle said: "The important thing is that everyone who wants to vote is able to do so.

"We have re-issued postal votes where people have told us they have not received them."

The constituency also includes areas covered by Oxford City Council and Cherwell District Council.

Jeremy Thomas, from the city council, said it had sent the "relevant part of the electoral data" to the Vale of White Horse.

Neither council could say why the ballot papers had not reached voters.

Mr Thomas added that his council would help by making papers available for collection from the town hall.

"People [who have not received their ballot paper] can request a postal voting pack until 17:00 on polling day itself," he said.

About 10,000 people have registered to vote by post in the Oxford West and Abingdon constituency.

In 2010, there were problems in neighbouring Oxford East when more than 600 postal voting packs were delayed.

The full list of candidates, in alphabetical order, is:

  • Nicola Blackwood (Conservative)
  • Sally Copley (Labour)
  • Mike Foster (Socialist Party GB)
  • Alan Harris (UKIP)
  • Layla Moran (Liberal Democrats)
  • Helen Salisbury (National Health Action Party)
  • Larry Sanders (Green)

More on this story

Around the BBC