Q&A: The eurozone's banking union

  • Published
Frankfurt skyline
Image caption,
The ECB will oversee the eurozone's banks from its headquarters in Frankfurt

The 17-nation eurozone is moving to strengthen its banking sector by introducing common rules and protections. The idea is to make huge taxpayer-funded bank bailouts a thing of the past.