BBC News

How the Schengen area of free EU movement was created

The Schengen Agreement was implemented in 1985 and it allows freedom of movement between the countries which are signed up to it.

Initially not many countries were in the agreement but it now includes almost every country in the European Union.

Chris Morris reports from Schengen in Luxembourg on how the agreement came to be.