Tawakul Karman, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Three women share Nobel Peace Prize

This year's Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded jointly to three women - Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman of Yemen.

They were recognised for their "non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work".

Mrs Sirleaf is Africa's first female elected head of state, Ms Gbowee is a Liberian peace activist and Ms Karman is a leading figure in Yemen's pro-democracy movement.

Mike Wooldridge reports.

  • 07 Oct 2011