Six countries to boycott Nobel Peace Prize ceremony

The controversy around this year's Nobel Peace Prize winner, jailed Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo, keeps growing.

The Nobel Institute had to confirm the award ceremony would indeed take place after several countries, including China, said they will not attend.

Mr Liu was sentenced to eleven years in prison last December on alleged subversion charges.

When the award was announced last month Beijing reacted furiously, saying the decision was an insult to the prize itself.

Now six countries, including Russia, say their ambassadors will not attend.

But criticism of the prize is not only coming from China.

Stephane Mayoux reports.