Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Tawakkol Karman and Leymah Gbowee
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Nobel Peace Prize presented to female trio in Oslo

The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize has been presented to three women at a ceremony in the Norwegian capital, Oslo.

This year's award was won jointly by Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the president of Liberia, Leymah Gbowee, the Liberian peace activist, and Yemeni pro-democracy campaigner Tawakkol Karman.

They were recognised for their "non-violent struggle" for women's safety and for women's rights to participate in peace-building work.

Emily Buchanan reports.

  • 10 Dec 2011
Go to next video: Tawakul Karman: 'I am so happy'