BBC News

Nobel Peace Prize awarded jointly to three women

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded jointly to three women, Yemeni activist Tawakul Karman, Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and her compatriot Leymah Gbowee.

Nobel chairman Thorbjrn Jagland said the women had been honoured "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work".