Vaughan Roderick
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Welsh Assembly deadlock: Vaughan's verdict

Welsh Assembly members have failed to elect a new first minister on their return to the Senedd.

Labour's Carwyn Jones was expected to be re-appointed following Thursday's election.

But Plaid Cymru nominated its leader Leanne Wood, and won the backing of the Tories and UKIP, while Mr Jones won the support of sole Liberal Democrat Kirsty Williams and his own party.

With the vote tied at 29-29, the Senedd was adjourned to a later date.

  • 11 May 2016