What happened last time
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Scottish election: What happened last time

The nation waits to find out who will be elected as MSPs in the Scottish Parliament.

In 2011, the SNP won 69 seats giving them a majority in Holyrood, Labour took 37 seats, the Conservatives had 15, the Liberal Democrats five, two seats went to the Scottish Greens and one independent.

BBC Scotland's Kirsten Campbell has been looking at the current state of play for the parties aiming to win this time around.

  • 06 May 2016
Go to next video: Ballot boxes open and counting begins