The next European Parliament president
Media playback is unsupported on your device

European Parliament president: Antonio Tajani beats Gianni Pitella

Two Italians fought to be the new European Parliament president, with Antonio Tajani beating Gianni Pitella, to take over the role vacated by Martin Schulz.

For Politics Europe, Jo Coburn reports from Strasbourg on reaction to the contest, and looks at what a new leader means for European politics.

  • 20 Jan 2017
Go to next video: Corbyn 'to ask MPs to back Article 50'