Francois Englert and Peter Higgs
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Nobel physics prize for Higgs boson scientists

British scientist Peter Higgs, and Francois Englert of Belgium have won the Nobel prize in physics for their work on the theory of the Higgs boson.

In the 1960s they were among several physicists who proposed a mechanism to explain why the most basic building blocks of the Universe have mass.

Pallab Ghosh reports.

  • 08 Oct 2013
Go to next video: Higgs boson scientists win Nobel prize