Apollo 11 astronauts Mike Collins (left), Neil Armstrong (centre), and Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin (R) in 1969
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Apollo 11 astronauts receive US Congressional gold medals

The US Congress gave its highest civilian honour to four American space pioneers.

The former astronauts were bestowed the Congressional gold medal, the first time it has been awarded to those involved in America's space programme.

From Washington, Marcus George reports.

  • 16 Nov 2011