Nathan Filer with his book The Shock of the Fall
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Nathan Filer wins Costa Book of the Year

Nathan Filer has won the £30,000 Costa Book of the Year Award for his novel The Shock of the Fall.

It follows the experience of Matthew Holmes, a 19-year-old who is haunted after witnessing his brother's death at a holiday park in Dorset.

Formerly known as the Whitbread Prize, this year's Costa Book Awards had a record 617 entries.

  • 28 Jan 2014
Go to next video: Costa winner 'shocked and delighted'