Robert Macfarlane
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Man Booker shortlist announced by Robert Macfarlane

Previous nominees Jim Crace and Colm Toibin are among the six writers to make this year's Man Booker shortlist.

Eleanor Catton, 27, is the youngest to make the cut with her book The Luminaries, published last week.

Crace's inclusion follows his announcement in February that Harvest was likely to be his last novel. At 67, he is the oldest author on the list.

Toibin is shortlisted for The Testament of Mary. Ruth Ozeki, Jhumpa Lahiri and NoViolet Bulawayo are also nominated.

Robert Macfarlane, chair of the judges, said the shortlist was "instantly striking" because of its "global range".

  • 10 Sep 2013
Go to next video: Mantel wins Costa Book of the Year