Chris Mullin
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Booker judge Chris Mullin on this year's shortlist

Bookies' favourite Julian Barnes is among six authors featured on this year's Man Booker Prize shortlist.

Bookmaker William Hill has put Barnes at 6-4 to win for his novel The Sense of an Ending.

Stephen Kelman, AD Miller, Carol Birch, Patrick deWitt and Esi Edugyan have also made it onto the shortlist.

The winner of the £50,000 annual prize - won last year by Howard Jacobson's The Finkler Question - will be announced on 18 October.

Former MP turned author Chris Mullin, who is on the judging panel, spoke to the BBC about the competition.

  • 06 Sep 2011
Go to next video: Howard Jacobson wins Booker Prize