The xx
Media playback is unsupported on your device

The xx's Mercury win a 'weird moment of clarity'

The xx have won this year's Mercury Music Prize for their debut album xx.

The band said that they had had a incredible year and that the award provided "a moment of clarity".

The London-based three-piece formed in 2005 and released their record in August last year.

The trio beat favourite Paul Weller, Biffy Clyro, Corinne Bailey Rae and Dizzee Rascal to win the £20,000 prize, which was announced live on BBC Two.

  • 07 Sep 2010
Go to next video: Entertainment Headlines