Elisha McCallion is declared the MP for Foyle
Media playback is unsupported on your device

General Election 2017: Sinn Féin's Elisha McCallion in historic win in Foyle

The SDLP have lost their 34-year hold on Foyle's Westminster seat to Sinn Féin as counting of general election votes continue in Northern Ireland.

Elisha McCallion was declared the winner over Mark Durkan after a recount. The SDLP has held the constituency since it was formed in 1983.

  • 09 Jun 2017