Party leaders sworn in at Holyrood
Media playback is unsupported on your device

Party leaders sworn in at Holyrood

All 129 MSPs have been sworn in at the beginning of the fifth session of the Scottish Parliament.

Party leaders were first to take their affirmation, or oath, in the well Holyrood's debating chamber.

SNP leader Nicola Sturgeon, Scottish Labour's Kezia Dugdale and the Scottish Green Party's Patrick Harvie chose to make an affirmation.

Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson and the Scottish Liberal Democrats Willie Rennie chose the oath.

Before making his affirmation, Patrick Harvie said his party's MSPs will serve the people of Scotland first.

  • 12 May 2016