Schools building plan list is revealed

Image caption, Caitriona Ruane said last week that the majority were approved

The Department of Education has revealed the full list of schools which have been approved or turned down for new building plans.

A total of 34 out of 67 schools have been told they comply with policy.

But there is no guarantee that any will be built because the education minister has said there is not enough money, unless extra funding was found.

Eight schools have been told they will not be approved. Twenty four may win approval after more work on plans.

The Twinbrook Irish medium primary, Scoil na Fuiseoige, has been approved, despite saying it believed that its rebuilding plans would be rejected.

All six special schools, which were being reviewed, have been approved.

Of the eight schools which have been told they do not comply with government policy, three are in the Western Board area, two in Belfast and two in the Southern area.

Education Minister Caitriona Ruane said last week that the majority were approved.

However, the minister said there was no money immediately available for any of the schools unless she obtained extra funding.

Ms Ruane said she would write to schools individually.

List of Schools


Ballymoney High

Bangor Grammar

Colaiste Feirste

Dromore Central PS

Ebrington PS

Edendork PS

Eglinton PS

Enniskillen PS

Foyle & Londonderry College

Holy Family PS

Holywood Nursery, Holywood PS and Redburn PS

Methodist College

Omagh Integrated PS

Parkhall Integrated College

Priory Integrated College

Rainey Endowed School

Scoil na Fuiseoige

St Clare's and St Colman's PS

St Colman's PS

St Conor's PS

St Joseph's Convent PS

St Joseph's PS Madden

St Mary's PS Banbridge

St Patrick's Academy, Dungannon

Strathearn Grammar

Taughmonagh PS

Victoria College

Victoria Park PS

Arvalee School and Resource Centre

Belmont House Special School

Greenwood House Assessment Centre

Knockevin Special School

Mitchell House Special School

Rossmar Special School

Partially approved

Ballykelly PS

Carrick PS

Corranny and Cornagague PS

Dean Maguirc College

Dromintee PS

Edenderry NS

Glastry College

Glenwood PS

Holy Trinity College,

Lurgan College, Cookstown

Magherafelt NS & PS

New Buildings PS

Portadown College

St Columba's PS

St Columbanus' College

St Columbkille's PS

St Louis' Grammar, Kilkeel

St Mary's PS Newcastle

St Oliver Plunkett PS

St Patrick's College, Banbridge

St Teresa's PS Lurgan

Strandtown PS

Tannaghmore PS

The High School, Ballynahinch

Not approved

Artigarvan PS, Strabane

Devenish College, Enniskillen

Knockbreda High, Belfast

Little Flower, Belfast

Loreto College, Omagh

Springhill PS, Belfast

St Bronagh's PS, Rostrevor

St Patrick's Grammar, Armagh

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.