Common market to bring new economic dawn for East Africa


Five nations in East Africa have created a common market.

The idea is to boost jobs and prosperity by co-ordinating taxes, immigration and trade.

The union is made up of Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania and Burundi.

As the BBC's Peter Greste reports, it is just the first step towards much closer integration of their economies.

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.