Conservation areas in Lake District to be extended

image captionThe Lake District is one of England's most visited areas

Two conservation areas in the Lake District are to be extended.

Areas in Caldbeck and Hesket Newmarket are to be expanded following a review and consultations by the Lake District National Park Authority.

Both extensions involve minor changes and "blend in with the current boundaries" supporting "the existing character of the conservation areas."

The new boundaries aim to protect areas of historical significance from development.

Andrew Herbert, head of environmental heritage for the Lake District National Park Authority, said both had small areas within the "gateways" to the villages which should be protected.

He said that despite the villages being within a national park, the conservation areas were needed to protect their character.

Caldbeck and Hesket Newmarket were designated as conservation areas in 1983.

Cultural heritage

In 2007 the national park commissioned consultants to begin a review of 13 current conservations areas, including those for Caldbeck and Hesket Newmarket.

David James, national park conservation and design adviser, said in a report that sustaining and improving the landscape, wildlife and cultural heritage would be achieved by "supporting the development of new approaches to celebrating cultural heritage, design and the built environment".

Recent proposals set out by Natural England to extend the Lake District National Park borders, were rejected by Cumbria County Council.

It would have seen the park extended to the south and east.

Confirmation of any new boundaries are subject to approval by the government and a public inquiry .

The 885 sq mile (2,292 sq km) Lake District National Park includes more than 30% of the county of Cumbria from Caldbeck in the north to Lindale in the south and from Ravenglass in the west to Shap in the east.

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.