Ten acts qualify for Eurovision Song Contest final

Image caption, Serbia's Milan Stankovic won a final place after performing Ovo Je Balkan

Ten countries have made it through to Saturday's grand final of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Greece, Portugal, Belarus, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Moldova, Russia, Serbia, Belgium, Albania and Iceland won through the first semi-final in Oslo.

A further 10 finalists will be chosen from 17 countries in a second semi-final on Thursday night.

Automatic finalists France, Germany, Spain, the UK and last year's winners Norway will also compete on Saturday.

Belgium have made their first final since 2004 with Me and My Guitar, a ballad performed by Tom Dice.

Russia, who won in 2008, returned to the grand final with a maudlin song which some pundits had not expected to qualify.

Malta, FYR Macedonia, Estonia, Latvia, Poland, Finland and Slovakia failed to progress.

Viewers in all countries that performed in Tuesday night's semi-final were allowed to vote, along with France, Germany and Spain.

UK viewers will be able to vote in Thursday's semi-final which will be broadcast live n BBC Three.

This year, for the first time, expert juries determine 50% of the vote in the qualifying rounds.

The judging panels are made up of record industry experts from each country.

UK entrant Josh Dubovie, 19, from Basildon in Essex, is representing the UK this year with That Sounds Good To Me, a song written and produced by Pete Waterman and Mike Stock.

Around the BBC

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.