Aberfan: The Green Hollow

Ep 1/1

Sunday 23 October



Some of Wales’ best known acting talent, including Michael Sheen, Jonathan Pryce, Siân Phillips, Eve Myles and Iwan Rheon, star in The Green Hollow - a 60-minute film-poem by multi-award winning poet, novelist and playwright Owen Sheers.

The production draws on interviews with survivors, parents and people involved in the rescue operation, many of whom have never before spoken about their experiences.

The film uses verse, imagery and music to explore the identity of the village before and after the tragedy. It aims to embrace the disaster’s legacy as well as celebrating the strength of the community today.

The star cast list continues with Karl Johnson, Robert Pugh, Kimberley Nixon, Eiry Thomas, Aimee-Ffion Edwards, Menna Trussler, Matthew Aubrey, Matthew Gravelle, Sharon Morgan, Boyd Clack, Lisa Palfrey, Shelley Rees, Richard Lynch, Matthew Raymond, Amy Morgan and Ryan Owen. There are also some contributions from community members and new young local acting talent.

Owen Sheers says: “Writing it was emotionally daunting, but it’s also been a tremendous privilege to have been trusted with the stories of Aberfan. Given that trust, I hope The Green Hollow is a fitting tribute and memorial, not just through being true, but through being beautiful too.”

Aberfan: The Green Hollow is part of a series of commemorative programmes by BBC Wales, marking 50 years since the Aberfan disaster, which touched people around the world. On 21 October 1966, an avalanche of coal waste crashed into a school and the nearby houses in Aberfan, killing 144 people including 116 children.