BBC Three sitcom Josh commissioned for a third series

I am delighted that the BBC has given me another opportunity to humiliate myself for six, 30-minute episodesJosh Widdicombe
Date: 04.11.2016     Last updated: 04.11.2016 at 15.48
Category: BBC Three
As the highly praised second series comes to an end tonight, it is announced that BBC Three sitcom Josh has been commissioned for a third series by Shane Allen, Controller, BBC Comedy Commissioning, returning with six brand new episodes in 2017.

Written by Josh Widdicombe, Tom Craine with Henry Paker and directed by David Schneider (I'm Alan Partridge and The Day Today), the quirky comedy follows the highs and lows of the eponymous Josh, an anxious old man trapped in an anxious young man’s body.

Josh will once again be joined by the regular ensemble cast: his hopelessly selfish flatmates, Owen (Elis James) and Kate (Beattie Edmondson), plus the world's most annoying landlord, Geoff (Jack Dee). Cameos throughout the two series have included; Jennifer Saunders, Michael Ball, Miles Jupp, Emma Bunton, Tamzin Outhwaite, Romesh Ranganathan, The Chuckle Brothers and James Acaster.

Josh Widdicombe says: "I am delighted that the BBC has given me another opportunity to humiliate myself for six 30-minute episodes. We absolutely loved every moment of creating the second series and are so proud that so many people enjoyed it. My only hope for series three is the British public gets to enjoy Elis James's wonderful torso again."

Shane Allen, Controller, Comedy Commissioning, says: “Josh’s star keeps rising and this series has proven hugely popular with the audience on both BBC Three and BBC One, with its terrific core ensemble and very inventive writing. Long may his misfortunes continue to give us all enormous pleasure. We’re laughing with him, right?”

Damian Kavanagh, Digital Controller, BBC Three, says: “I'm so glad Josh is coming back for a new series on BBC Three. Who doesn't want more Geoff in their life?"

The second series of Josh concludes tonight on BBC One, 11.25pm - 11.55pm 

Production Credits
Production Company / BBC Studios,
Writers / Josh Widdicombe, Tom Craine with Henry Paker
Director / David Schneider
Producer / Simon Mayhew-Archer
Executive Producer / Stephen McCrum
BBC Commissioning Editor / Shane Allen