Harry Hill returns as Professor Branestawm this Christmas on BBC One

I’m thrilled to be back playing the original nutty professor, and this time he’s even nuttier than last time.Harry Hill
Date: 06.10.2015     Last updated: 20.10.2015 at 16.28
Category: BBC One
The original mad professor is back as Harry Hill reprises his role as the title lead in the BBC One show The Further Adventures of Professor Branestawm (w/t) as filming begins this week.

Set in the quintessential English village of Great Pagwell, the hour-long special sees Branestawm face money troubles when his bills are literally out of control. In order to try and pay off his debts, Connie suggests he enter the town’s best inventing competition to win a cash prize of £1,854 and a thruppeny bit - enough money to pay off his tax bill. But can he out invent the self-professed greatest inventor in the world, Professor Algebrain?

Returning to the show alongside Harry are Vicki Pepperdine as Mrs Flittersnoop (Getting On), Madeline Holliday as Connie (CBBC’s Hank Zipzer), Simon Day as Colonel Dedshott (The Life Of Rock With Brian Pern), Charlie Higson (The Fast Show) as the Mayor, David Mitchell (Peep Show) as councilor Harold Haggerstone, Sophie Thompson (Jericho) as Connie’s mum Aggie, and Adrian Scarborough (Gavin and Stacey). A raft of talented names joining this stellar cast include Steve Pemberton (Inside No 9) as Professor Algebrain, Dame Diana Rigg (Game Of Thrones) as Lady Pagwell and Matt Berry as Professor Awfulshirt.

Harry Hill says: “I’m thrilled to be back playing the original nutty professor, and this time he’s even nuttier than last time."

Writer Charlie Higson says: “It’s very exciting to be making another Branestawn film. It’s great to get the cast back together and have fun in this crazy world.”

The Further Adventures of Professor Branestawm (w/t) is written by Charlie Higson. It was commissioned by Charlotte Moore, Controller, BBC One; Shane Allen, Controller of Comedy Commissioning; and Myfanwy Moore, Controller of BBC Comedy Production. Produced by BBC In-house comedy, the programme is executive produced by Ben Farrell (Toast Of London, Reggie Perrin), the producer is Rosemary McGowan (Jonathan Creek, Lapland, Happiness) and director is Sandy Johnson (Cradle to Grave, Harry & Paul, Benidorm).

Notes to Editors

20/10/15 - release edited