BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012 shortlist unveiled

Date: 26.11.2012     Last updated: 18.03.2014 at 18.05
Category: BBC One; BBC HD; Sport
Following an unprecedented year of sport we are delighted to announce the final shortlist of 12 sportspeople who make up the shortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012.

The list reflects the success of a truly remarkable year and the exceptional achievements of our sportsmen and women.

The shortlist of 12 contenders was put together by an expert panel of sports specialists.

The shortlist (in alphabetical order) is:

  • Nicola Adams
  • Ben Ainslie
  • Jessica Ennis
  • Mo Farah
  • Katherine Grainger
  • Sir Chris Hoy
  • Rory McIIroy
  • Andy Murray
  • Ellie Simmonds
  • Sarah Storey
  • David Weir
  • Bradley Wiggins

More details on the sports panel and the shortlisting process can be found on the BBC Sports Personality of the Year website.

The 12 shortlisted contenders will now compete for the public vote on the night of the live show, which is presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Clare Balding on BBC One, Sunday 16 December, 7.30pm. This year the show comes from Excel London. The public will be able to vote for their BBC Sports Personality of the Year by telephone; details of the numbers to vote on will be announced during the programme.

In addition to the main award of Sports Personality of the Year there will also be awards for:

  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Overseas Sports Personality of the Year
  • Young Sports Personality of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Helen Rollason Award
  • Sports Unsung Hero

For voting criteria on all the Awards, further information and updates please visit